As I Soften

As I soften, I realize life is so much more than the effort I put into it.  As I soften, I realize that love is all that matters.  As I soften, I am coming to love myself as I do my husband, my children, my grandchildren and my friends, treating myself as the greatest love of my life.  As I soften, I feel a tenderness toward myself and others.  I am cultivating a deeper appreciation of the differences that, rather than separating us, actually draw us into communion.  As I soften, I am listening to the other’s Soul rather than just hearing the words. As I soften, I have less fear and more joy.  I do not want to die, but I accept its ultimate inevitability.  I am, as we all are, infinite and, at the same time, mortal.

““We do not need to grieve for the dead. Why should we grieve for them? They are now in a place where there is no more shadow, darkness, loneliness, isolation, or pain. They are home.”  John O’Donohue

As soften, any illusion of a perfect world or perfect health falls away.  What is left you may ask?  The mystery of life filled with wonder, intimacy and compassionate forgiveness.

each day is a gift_life after cancer

One thought on “As I Soften

  1. I’ve been spending some time with your beautiful writing. You make me realize how pointless it is to worry about most of the things that consume our minds and attention on a daily basis but you also make me optimistic about the possibilities that exist once I convince myself to redirect. When I know people have a burden, such as with their health, I tell them I am praying for them to have comfort and peace. I think you, however, have more peace than anyone I’ve ever known! so I’ll just pray open-ended for you that you have whatever it is you might need, whenever you need it, all the time. Thank you for sharing all that you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

